little bag of lace

Kia ora everybody

First of all, you’ve still got some time to enter the Lucky-As draw, so hurry hurry and send in a photo of you in your hat to moonshinewashingline@gmail.com. Have lots of great shots so far!

It’s been a busy few weeks and I’m somewhat relieved that market season is almost over (for me) and that I can get back into sewing rather than trying to coordinate transport and set up etc.

I’m also very happy to be able to look at and touch fabric again without thinking, “Could this resemble one of the layers of Mt Taranaki?”

Jake and I spent an intense couple of weeks making fabric models for a Absolutely Positively Wellington campaign. The due date happened to be the day of our 3-year wedding anniversary and also the day The Dominion Post called to take pictures of us with some of the models we made down at Lyall Bay. Click on the picture to see the article, which has a link to part of the animated advertisement for Australian television. There is a longer cinema version which is even more amazing!

While cleaning up the mammoth mess we had made, I came across a bag of bits and pieces that I picked up from my grandma’s house earlier in the summer. (And which I almost unknowingly sold at my garage sale!)

Turns out I had a treasure trove of beautiful antique lace on my hands, as well as unfinished embroidered linens, and a collection of salvaged zippers with seam-ripped threads still in place. Most of it was in a small canvas bag addressed to my great grandmother so I’m pretty sure some of it was hers and that some of it hadn’t been touched in about 50 years.

hand drawn, hand sewn, hand cut!

The most magical part of it all was that it felt like a collection–with a contrast of bright batik prints, quaint English lace and even the odd slightly 80s ‘punk ‘studded zipper–that I would have put together myself long before I was even born. What a valuable gift from my like-minded ancestors. I can’t wait to revive the lace and maybe even finish the embroidery while curled up by the fire over the winter months (yes after 3 YEARS of endless summer, I’m actually looking forward to winter!)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “little bag of lace

  1. Danielle

    oooh! what a score! i like the idea of finishing the embroidery – building onto the work done before, making it yours and g´ma´s at once. sounds like the making of a very cosy and romantic winter.

Leave a comment